What I’ve Learnt

Hi Everyone

So I write sometimes and this is a piece I finished recently. I hope you enjoy it

I don’t know why it took me this long to understand but now I do, and even though the lesson was painful, I’ve learnt. I don’t know if I still believe in love but I’m learning to ‘rebelieve’.

Up to 2016. everything was a scam to me and then you came, and you changed everything. And you left and you took everything and it hurt too much. What’s more painful is that you didn’t have the decency to be straight with me. But I’ve forgiven, like I forgave the one before you and I will forgive the ones to come.

At first I did’t think I would be fine. Who am I kidding ?

I’ll never be the same again. But time heals wounds right? So I’m sure this one would heal.

Then I met someone, as cliche as that sounds, no we;re not dating. But that person is helping me although he doesn’t know he is.

Now I know what I want and it’s not you, you don;t even come close.

Now I know that the next person I date should be my future husband. Key word: should.

The next person I date should:

  • Should have a side hustle not just school
  • Be independent and smart
  • Believe in me
  • He should definitely love God a lot
  • He should be mature
  • He should understand that the promise ring I don’t wear means a lot to me and should support that decision.

Dear future boyfriend, 

I should be able to learn from you and with you and I should never have to worry if I’m good enough for you 

I don’t know why it took me this long to learn this lesson but now I understand and Jeremiah 29:11 has never felt this real.

New International Version (NIV)

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

The wounds would definitely take time to heal but I promise that I’m stronger and no I would not fall for the same things again. I don’t know if I believe in love yet, at least not properly . But I’m hoping 2017 clears my doubts.

Thank you Lord, I finally learnt my lesson

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

